LIKE, LOOK LIKE, BE LIKE

Like can be used

  • as a verb,  to talk about tastes I like dancing / What sport does Peter like? He likes tennis.
  • What’s your favorite food? I likeI Italian food.
  • as a preposition, with look and be to talk about appearance and ask for descriptions.

Be like is used to ask for and give a general description abou CHARACTER

What is Alex like?
(=describe his personality).
He is nice and friendly and always willing to help –
a great friend to have.
  • What is Julie like?
    She is reliable, pleasant and helpful. She is like a friend

 

We use look like to describe physical appearance or resemblance to someone – APPEARANCE or PROBABILITY

What doesAlex look like?
(=describe his appearance).
He is tall and handsome, and he dresses well.
He’s a big guy.  He looks like a rugbyman.
Who does Alex look like?
(=his similarity with another person).
He looks like his father really, but in some ways he also looks like George Clooney.
PROBABILITY
  1. It looks like it is going to rain later today.
  2. It looks like he is going to be sick.
  3. She looks like she is going to fall down.

 

TRY AN EXERCISE

https://elt.oup.com/student/englishfile/intermediate/f_howwordswork/nef_int_howwordswork03a?cc=it&selLanguage=it

http://www.englishexercises.org/makeagame/viewgame.asp?id=13125

https://www.myenglishpages.com/site_php_files/grammar-exercise-questions-with-like.php

http://www.englishexercises.org/makeagame/viewgame.asp?id=12141

Look, look like, be like (exercises)

Choose the correct answer (answer key)

1. My little daugher always says she  —  look-look like-looks-looks like   —   a princess.

2. Ann —  look-look like-looks-looks like   —    her mother.

3. You    –   look-look like-looks-looks like   –     tired. What’s the matter?

4. Your trousers are very old. You     –   look-look like-looks-looks like     –   a tramp!

5. She’s old but she     –    look -look like-looks-looks like   –    beautiful.

6. Look at your hair! You    –    look-look like-looks-looks like     –   a punk rocker.

7. You   –  look-look like-looks-looks like    –   so pretty in that dress!

8. This house   –   look-look like-looks-looks like    –    a palace!.

9. The boss    –  look-look like-looks-looks like   – intelligent but I think he’s not so.

10. You don’t   –   look-look like-looks-looks like    –    well. Are you OK?

11. Tim, with this beard, you    –    look-look like-looks-looks like     –    older.

12. Mary    –   look-look like-looks-looks like   –    her sister.

Match the answers on the right to their corresponding questions on the left.

1. What’s Andrew like?

2. How are you?

3. Who do you look like?

4. What do you like?

5. What does he look like?

6. What’s she like?

7. Who does Mike look like?

8. What does she look like?

9. How’s your mother?

10. Who’s Ann like?

a -She’s very pretty and tall.

b -She’s very shy.

c -My mother.

d -Like her mother, very talkative.

e -She’s better, she left hospital two days ago.

f -He’s tall and blue eyed.

g -Sports cars and science fiction films.

h -Not bad, thanks!

j -He looks like his father.

k -He’s very talkative and quite attractive.

3 – Choose the correct verb: look, be like or look like.

1. Peter ……… worried. Is he ok?

2. – What ………….? – She’s tall, pretty and very friendly.

3. Ann is so blonde. She ………….. (not) anyboydy in her family!

4. You…………. an actress in this dress! It’s really beautiful.

5. They…………… going to the cimena at weekends.

6. Who ………….? Like her father… very stubborn!

7. She……………. (not) very happy today.

8. – What does your brother ……………? – He’s tall with blue eyes.

9. – What ……………? – Her hobbies are going to the cinema and running.

10. – What………………….? – They’re very friendly.

11. Heare ………………… his father…. Very talkative!!!

12. – They …………………. angry. What’s the matter?

13. Martha…………… Madonna with those clothes.

14. – What ……………..? – They are both very shy.

15. – Who ………………..? – She looks like her father.

16. – What………………….? – I love going to hte beach.

17. – Who……………………? – Peter, I’m really in love with him!

 

Looking Up Peter in Seattle

Last week I was in Seattle and I remembered that my friend Peter had recently moved there. I looked up his name in the telephone book, called, but got the answering machine. Luckily, I finally found him at work. He was looking at a picture on his desk, and I swear he looked like the famous actor Harrison Ford! I know Peter looked up toHarrison Ford, but I was a little surprised to see that he had become a look-alike! I said ‘Look lively!’ and he raised his eyes and looked me up and down. ‘Hello! if it isn’t my old friend Ken!’, Peter said. With that, he got up, looked me up and down and shook my hand.

I must admit, Peter didn’t look his age in the slightest. In fact, he looked as if he was ten years older! I looked him straight in the eye and said, “Well, I was in town and thought I’d look in on you to see how you’re doing in Seattle. How have you been?” Peter responded that he was fine, but that he was also on the look out for a new cat. Looking over at the picture, I noticed that it was of a cat. “Yes, he sighed, I didn’t really look after my first cat very well. It ran away.” “I’m sorry to hear that”, I said.

We talked for a while and decided to go out for a coffee. We were at a Starbucks when a beautiful woman walked into the Cafe. Peter quickly looked the other way. “Who’s she?”, I asked. “Nobody, just someone who looks down their nose at me.” Just then somebody shouted “Look out!” Peter jumped up and pushed the woman hard. At first, she looked daggers at him. Then, realizing what had happened, she noticed that because Peter had been looking lively, she hadn’t slipped on a ice coffee drink that was all over the floor. I’m glad I looked Peter up, it certainly was an interesting day…